B.K.S. Iyengar

Iyengar Yoga

Iyengar Yoga uses a systematic approach to the sequencing of asanas (the yoga postures).


This approach was developed by B.K.S. Iyengar, who was born in India in 1918 and still teaches alongside his daughter Geeta and son Prashant.


The system is methodical and progressive differing from other styles in it’s precision to physical alignment. This is achieved by the use of props, where necessary, to aid the body in achieving the correct alignment.

Qualified Iyengar Yoga Teacher

Iyengar yoga has exceptionally high teaching standards.

Prior to being accepted on an Iyengar teacher training course, 3 years practice under an Iyengar teacher must be completed and a preliminary exam passed.

Students will then embark on a 2 years training course (120 hours) and pass exams at Level 1 and Level 2. Only when both exams are passed will a teacher be classed as a Iyengar Yoga Instructor at Introductory Level. This means they are qualified to teach postures on the introductory syllabus only.

Once qualified, teachers may decide to be certified under the Iyengar certification body and continue to develop their practice under the bodies strict governance or they may decide to follow their own path to develop and explore a more holistic path.



Choose your favorite class and signup!

The Yoga Practice has classes for “all stages of life”